Book Review: Doll Bones

I read a lot of horror books. I feel that it is a part of my duty as a horror writer to read a lot of horror books. If you’ve been following this blog for any length of time, I’m sure you’ve noticed that I am also reading a fair number of other genres also, but horror is my go-to, and I love my horror books. Also, having authored a children’s horror book myself, I have a deep fondness for the subcategory. I love a horror story that can scare you while maintaining a PG rating. This led me to read Holly Black’s Doll Bones.

I found it to be a fun coming of age story on par with Stephen King’s The Body. It had the elements of adventure and innocence lost, but mixed in there was a terrifying undercurrent. The Queen, as a character in the book was creepy in a way that most writers for adults cannot capture. It was among the scariest books I’ve read in years and ranks up there with Clive Barker’s The Thief of Always as the best children’s horror I’ve ever read. Thank you Holly, for writing it right.

 

Leave a Reply

