Book Review: Isaac Newton by James Gleick

James Gleick offers here a fun look at one of the world’s most important and respected thinkers. Having never read anything about Newton since I was a child, I was stunned by how much of a pompous, arrogant bastard I found Sir Newt to be. To rail against the church for conducting itself in Latin only to publish his own works in Latin to keep it out of the hands of the commoner in the height of ass-holishness. The Hooke feud is a great story, but I felt it was under-developed in this biography, if Neil deGrass Tyson’s Cosmos is to believed. All in all, this was a fun read and gave me a better understanding of a man that I’m happy to admire from a distance.

Leave a Reply

